LIS Links

First and Largest Academic Social Network of LIS Professionals in India

The Indian Association of Teachers of Library and Information Science (IATLIS) invites nominations from LIS teachers/professionals /researchers for the following awards:

A.   IATLIS -  Prof. S.P. Narang Research Promotion Award 2017; 2019 and 2021 (For Research Scholar)

B.   IATLIS -  Prof. S.P. Narang Research Promotion Award 2020 (For Supervisor)

C.   IATLIS - Prof. Jagindar Singh Ramdev Lifetime Achievement Award 2017, 2019, 2020 and 2021.

D.   IATLIS – Mrs. Ratna Laxman Rao Best Woman LIS Teacher/Professional Award

A.   Eligibility criteria for IATLIS - Prof. S.P. Narang Research Promotion Award to be given every alternate year to an LIS Researcher

Nominations only of students registered for Ph.D. (Full time) in a recognized university during the assessment year would be considered. The nominee should not be a full-time employee during the assessment period. Nominations should be sent on a plain paper accompanied by bio-data, list of publications (published/accepted for publication).

B.   Eligibility criteria for IATLIS - Prof. S.P. Narang Research Promotion Award to be given every alternate year to an LIS Teacher/Supervisor

The nominee must be an in-service teacher in a UGC recognized university on a full-time basis and must have at least 10 years of teaching and research experience in Library and Information Science.

The following aspects of the research work during previous two years shall be considered for the award:
·        Supervision of Ph.D. research work.
·        Research funding got from national and international bodies
·        Research papers published in peer-reviewed journals.
·        Research publications cited.

C.   Eligibility criteria for IATLIS – Prof. Jagindar Singh Ramdev Lifetime Achievement Award:

A very senior/retired LIS teacher/professional/researcher who has made profound contribution to library education, research, training, literature, and practice. Claims must be supported with documentary proof. Award can be given to a deserving person even if not applied. Award won't be given if no one is found suitable.

D.   IATLIS – Mrs. Ratna Laxman Rao Best Woman LIS Teacher / Professional Award

 The nominee should have at least 10 years of teaching experience at the post-graduate level or 10 years professional experience at a senior level, and should be in service. A person can receive the award only once and one person can nominate only one LIS teacher / professional at a time. 

Nominations on plain paper should be accompanied by bio-data, list of publications, details of professional activities, and contribution to IATLIS activities.

The recipient LIS teacher/researcher will be given the award at the XXXVIII IATLIS National Conference 2022, organized jointly by Indian Association of Teachers of Library and Information Science (IATLIS); &
Department of Library and Information Science, Mohanlal Sukhadia University, Udaipur, Rajasthan on 03-04 December 2022. The nominations will be considered by an Awards Committee constituted by the IATLIS Executive Committee. An award will not be given in case majority of the Committee Members feel that no one has been found suitable for that award.

Executive Council Members of IATLIS are not eligible to be nominated for these awards. Self-nominations will not be considered. The nominee should be a life member of the IATLIS, except for Prof. S.P. Narang Research Promotion Award (for researcher Scholar). Nomination should reach Dr. H.P.S. Kalra, President IATLIS on with a copy to Dr. Jagtar Singh, Director, Collaborations and Partnerships IATLIS on latest by 09 November 2022.

No communication questioning the decision of the Awards Committee/IATLIS Executive Committee will be entertained.

For any other information/Queries Please contact General Secretary, IATLIS
on or visit

Views: 647

Reply to This

© 2024   Created by Dr. Badan Barman.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service

Koha Workshop